Meat Cutter needs Refrigeration Friends!

Hello, Newbie here. Retired butcher wanting to open meat shop. I like to run a small freezer (4x8x8) and cooler (20x8x8). I'd like to build it myself to save a few bucks. I saw this on Ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TECUMSEH-3-4...item58815acffe

TECUMSEH 3/4hp REFRIGERATION COMPRESSOR HGA9468ZXA

I understand the basics (and I mean basics), but not the lingo or details. So, my goal here is to make contact with folks that know there stuff and get myself nudged in the right direction. My electrical source will be whatever is typical of residential. I don't want 3 phase.

Thanks

Re: Meat Cutter needs Refrigeration Friends!

You are starting at the wrong point. You need to know the loading's on the 2 rooms
    and then you size the evaporator. Then you size the compressor.

The compressor has no electrics with it and it is only suitable
    for 0 deg applications ( I know you Americans use Fahrenheit so if it is degF then thats ok)

You do not need a compressor though, you need the whole condensing unit.
    It does not make economical sense to try and build a condensing unit from
    component parts, just buy the whole thing.

Something like this

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Aspera-Fre...-/271313259312

or

http://http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Embraco-Indoor-Walk-In-Cooler-1hp-R404-Condensing-Unit-208-230V-Single-Phase-/281201009981?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4178e2e53d

Not necessarily this one but one like it.

I personally think you will be fighting a losing battle to try and do this all by
    yourself. Build the boxes by all means and even buy the equipment but if
    you try and do the refrigeration yourself, you will be asking for trouble and
    end up paying more in the long run to put it right.

Rob

Last edited by Rob White; 06-11-2013 at 01:51 PM.
    .. ... -. .----. - / -- --- .-. ... . / -.-. --- -.. . / --. --- --- -..

Rob,