seeking advice regarding an evaporator coil change out..

Good day to all,

I am a newbie to this site but really appreciate what I have read in the forums you guys are really great for helping everyone out. which brings me to my dilemma. I have a 3.5 ton heat pump Trane unit that was installed in 1998 and was great when it was good but the evaporator coil has somewhat deteriorated over the years even with my six month interval clean out and is in need of replacement due to flow restriction.

The condenser unit is in great shape and I really didn't want to change it out unnecessarily. I cannot find a Trane replacement without them trying to charge me close to what a new complete system would cost. I have found reasonably priced coils in the market that will run on R-22 as my unit does yet I keep being told that it must be a direct Trane replacement in order for it to work.

I don't believe this but am not as knowledgeable as you guys with the combined thousand plus years of experience and knowledge you bring to this forum. So I present this, for your consideration and advise. Can I replace a Trane 3.5 ton R-22 evaporator coil with a universal replacement coil of the same capacity?

Thanks in advance!
    Josejr

hookster is offline Veteran Poster I am starting to push the Mods: of RE

Re: seeking advice regarding an evaporator coil change out..

Hi Jose
    welcome to the world of OEM spares 'OH MY GOD, ENORMOUS MARGIN'
    If the evaporator is a shell and tube this can be re-tubed. Sounds like its fouled on the water side? this can be descaled and power cleaned, revolving brush etc is it on a Marine application? I would have it cleaned leak check and NDT tested. A close inspection will let you know if tubes have excessive wastage.
    A replacement tube bundle can be created or just replace with a plate.

If you have already found an evaporator that meets design spec then it will work.