LP switch bypass timer

Hey guys, i have just been challenged with the task of drawing a control diagram for an existing chiller, this unit has been modified so many times by so many people that I dont think the chiller knows what it is any more .

My question is there have been 2 timers added to bypass the low pressure switch, is this normal and why would you need to?

Also why does there never seem to be overload protection on compressors?

Sorry for my ignorence but i am a Controls Engineer from Manchester, now living in Canada

Re: LP switch bypass timer

single phase hermetic compressors have a built in overload ;klixon;,as for the delay timer on the l/p can only guess its a preset l/p sealed switch so there to let it settle down?

hi MF, in the old days ( before global warming) BGW, it was known for engineers to fit a cold winter pack ( CWP) this was a 2nd LP switch set 5 PSI higher than no,1 LP so on chilly mornings( which the UK + Canada ) do have. the new LP would trip and a timer would keep this ON for half an hour or so hope this helps =sedgy

have contactors been replaced and some one omitted the overloads??
    as for the delay timers- they can be fitted to act as a delay on start up
    however- wouldnt it be better to fit an adjustable pressure switch without a delay
    whats the model of the chiller- check the original wiring diagram-see what should be in there, then maybe suggest additional safety devices.
    - surely a controls engineer should be able to answer a controls question?

Quote Originally Posted by Mucking fuddle View Post
    Hey guys, i have just been challenged with the task of drawing a control diagram for an existing chiller, this unit has been modified so many times by so many people that I dont think the chiller knows what it is any more .

My question is there have been 2 timers added to bypass the low pressure switch, is this normal and why would you need to?