Outdoor Unit Blowing Warm Air

I am an Electrician who has recently gained the F Gas qualification. At work last night I discovered an AC unit running incorrectly. The indoor unit was blowing, but the outdoor was blowing cold air.! I had no tools to investigate, but my initial feeling is the unit has a leak and/or age has caused the unit to be low on refrigerant .
    Would this be a reasonable diagnosis? ( the unit was set to cool @ 19 degrees)

Thank you

Re: Outdoor Unit Blowing Warm Air

thought all sparks had a neon driver and a volt stickquick pointers- was the room above 21deg? was the compressor running, check the control circuit- look for pressure switches open circuit,is power correct to the unit,is there a reversing valve? is the compressor pumping? problem is now u got ur f gas ticket- ur boss will think he can send you to any ac unit- problem being is a 5 day course will not give you the knowledge,experience familiarisation of different systems-

The room was 30 degrees, the compressor kicked in for a matter of seconds, cyclically, and there is a reversing valve, albeit the system has always been set to cool, and referencing the maintenance logs, was operating correctly 2 month ago. Between then and now, the valve would not need to operate anyway due to the excessive ambient temperature(?).

We're a big company, and ourselves, and boss included, are aware of our limits. If we struggle, we have the facility to bring in an external contractor ( or expert, as I like to call them, who has done more than a 10 day course, probably an actual apprenticeship!)

check compressor current , make sure it aint going out on internal klixon /overload, as before,check pressure switches for open circuit- may be auto reset,good luck

HI
    check settings on internal remote or thermostat , make sure it is set for cooling and not heating or auto mode !
    good luck
    THE DEFINITION OF A SMART PERSON IS ONE WHOM LEARNS FROM HIS MISTAKES!!!