Howden oil cooling issues

Hi all, I am a service tech (I am not on site with this unit) and have inherited a howden screw serving a spiral chamber. the issue is, erratically, the oil cooling stops and the compressor shuts down on high oil temp. The oil cooling is liquid injection into screws through a solenoid valve and a TXV. I cannot get either to fail. It happens about once or twice a month. It has a new frick Quantom controller and oil cooling works every time I cycle it. liquid level in high pressure reciever is always stable, but a little low in my opinion (2 out of 5 sight glasses). Volume is set at 3.0. thank you for any help. I have not worked on any howdens before.

Re: Howden oil cooling issues

Welcome to the Forum US Greg!
    To your problem. These kinds of problems can be annoying.
    You say that the level is stable at two sight glasses. If it shuts down on oil temp we of course do not know if it was at two glasses when it shut down. A lot of things can affect the level at various times. Hot gas defrost etc. One good place to look to see if it happens is when the freezer is being defrosted. (Assuming hot gas defrost) This could affect the level and head pressure.
    Head pressure can be a big issue if it is not stable. It has the same effect as low liquid level, starving the compressor of cooling liquid.
    Is the cooling liquid drawn from the receiver at a lower point than the liquid supply to the rest of the plant?