Question F gas and cruise ships

F gas and cruise ships... I was wondering if the new F gas EU legislation cover the numerous cruise ships that pepper the EU coasts every year...
    If so, what are the Companies responsabilities? Should the Reffer Engineer on this ships be certified as we are certified to operate in US waters?
    I am a refrigeration engineer on one of these and I am curios to know if i need to undergo a new training or not...
    Thanks a lot for your time

Re: F gas and cruise ships

Unless it has changed recently then no ships or fishing trawlers do not legally have to comply.
    Or at least that's my take on it.
    The same as wheeled trailers or trucks have a very watered down version.
    However if you intend to ever ply your trade on dry land.
    Then your 2079 or your countries equivalent will apply.

Given the above how about marine a/c engineers. Purchasing on-land?
    How would a wholesaler read that one.

If I am wrong I am sure someone will advise.
    Grizzly

The big question when it comes to ships is what flag it is flying.

The ship will primarily only have to comply with the regulations in the country where it is registered.
    There are a few circumstances where countries and their harbour officials are able to enforce the local laws and standards but unfortunately these are the exceptions rather than the rules.

Marine even tend to use different refrigerant cylinders, I forget the brand. (Unitor or something like that?)
    But they take the old R502 size bottle adaptor.
    Grizzly

Well Viking, what you are stating isn't actually correct, try to explain to a USCG officer or an US EPA auditor that their rules do not apply on your ship because you have a Bahamian flag :-) Good luck.. Also Australia is a though cookie..
    That's why to work on ships you need to have, at least when you cover the Chief Refrigeration Engineer position a universal EPA certificate.