Hacking an extremely sensitive Hz issue (50 vs 60)

I have been troubleshooting this problem for 10 months now and I'm ready to give up. This is about making an 60 Hz whirlpool appliance imported from America work on 50 Hz in Japan. The dishwasher's control panel is extremely sensitive to the Hz. I've not seen this with anything else ever. Usually the clock simply is off and all appliances work otherwise. But, this won't even power on without 60hz.

I bought a $2300 power converter and plugs into the wall and takes the 100 v and 50 hz input and puts out 115 v and 60 hz. I've used a Kill-A-Watt to measure the Hz real time.

Inevitably, the dishwasher only finishes about 20% of the attempts we try from beginning to end. When it stops, it starts the whole cycle from the beginning. I've taken video of the Kill-A-Watt and when the Hz fluctuates for a micro second from 60 to 57.5, and then back to 60, then dishwasher stops.

This is very frustrating and now I'm considering breaking open the motherboard of the dishwasher and figuring out someway to hack a resistor or something onto it to bypass this 60hz only behavior. Any advice out there please?

Brian_UK is offline Moderator I am starting to push the Mods: of RE Site Moderator : and general nice guy

Re: Hacking an extremely sensitive Hz issue (50 vs 60)

Sorry, but being a forum relating to refrigeration we may not have many experts dealing with dishwashers.
    Brian - Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
    Retired March 2015

Hello
    Possibly it is now the new bought converter' unstable work that is making it worse.
    As for the dishwasher, all controls use DC's, not the AC. I would try to figure out at which points on its PCB the DC source(s) start, then would throw away the trafic, rectifiers, stabiliser and whatever there is and connected to this point(s) my own source of well rectified stabilised DC (as in principle it does not matter from what kind of electricity I have obtained a necessary voltage level).