Unhappy UK Refrigeration Engineer apprenticeship help

Hey,

(sorry if this is in the wrong forum), im a college student looking to drop out and seek an apprenticeship in the industry of Refrigeration/Air Conditioning engineer.

I just really want to know if it's a good/interesting career? I'd hate to do years of apprenticeship work, and realise i hate it. Is it good pay in the industry?

also, does anybody know companies in the UK that offer apprenticeships (im currently enquiring at york UK)

thanks, and sorry if i posted this in the wrong place

Re: UK Refrigeration Engineer apprenticeship help

I just really want to know if it's a good/interesting career? I'd hate to do years of apprenticeship work, and realise i hate it.
    This sounds like you haven't really done any research on the industry. Why chose refrigeration? - why not concrete shuttering?

Is it good pay in the industry?
    If you only want to join the industry for moiety rewards then think again - hour on hour we do not earn "good" money. Most techs in the game do the job for the love, challenge and diversity of it.

Its called an " infectuos " love for what we do
    You are either smitten or not

Money factor is not a useful yardstick........Hence so many "proffessionals" end up as retired and happy carpenters or plumbers.

They went into their occupations for the wrong reasons

A freind of mine is a Dentist.........It never ceases to amaze me when his eyes light up anytime he has to do make something with his hands.
    Any opinions, statements and facts expressed in this message do not constitute legal advice in any shape or form and is given for a general outlook in nature. You are advised to seek appropriate and specific professional assistance from a regulated and authorised advisor for definitive advice.

Quote Originally Posted by halfcan
    I'd hate to do years of apprenticeship work, and realise i hate it.