how to GET STARTED in an HVAC environment?

i am a recent graduate of mechanical engineering and i recently got a job in a international complex housing shopping malls and executive offices.i am deputed to a chiller plant room.though i know the basics of an absorption system,the very sight of a plant room seems too FRIGHTENING..all so much integrated..pumps,chillers,,chemical dosing pumps,headers,,bypassess,,controls,,sensors,,discharge lines going to the service areas such as office buildings,,shopping malls etc...how to go about this dilemma?how and where should i start?changing which parameters alters the operations of the whole system?...etc...need sound advice..thank you

Re: how to GET STARTED in an HVAC environment?

Hi, start knowing your system and you will become more confident as you become familiar with it.

Take the dust off drawings and flow charts and compare them with the site information and bring them up to date.

Take notes on all the settings, make a plan for collecting data and only by doing this you will be able to make plans for your next steps.

Good luck in your new job!
    Well, did anybody ever dream of calling Aramis a coward? No, certainly not!

thank you aramis,,,but still,any suggestions of how to break things down into categories?..more about simplifying things ...

Quote Originally Posted by aramis View Post
    Hi, start knowing your system and you will become more confident as you become familiar with it.

Take the dust off drawings and flow charts and compare them with the site information and bring them up to date.

Take notes on all the settings, make a plan for collecting data and only by doing this you will be able to make plans for your next steps.

Good luck in your new job!