Can a walk-in freezer be used as a cooler ?

I have a customer in the bar business and he picked up a walk-in freezer 4'x6' Norlake Model KLF46-CL-26 The Compressor is a Copelametic KAN2-005-1AA. He wants to use it as a refrigeration unit for keg storage at around 36-38 degrees F. I was going to hook it up to a Ranco type controller and set it at 37 F with a 3 degree difference. would this work and if not how can it be done. I am an appliance tech (19 yrs) dealing with only the household side and not commercial but he is a regular customer of mine. Thanks for the input

Re: Can a walk-in freezer be used as a cooler ?

your compressor have a maximum working evaporating temp of 55F. If you run the unit at around 30F evaporating temp, it should be OK. check that the condenser is large enough to get rid of the heat.
    Set the defrost to one defrost every 12 hours, orifice in the TXV will need to be changed to a larger one.

We don't know all the particulars about that freezer unit but as we say here in Kansas USA
    I don't think she will fly Newt (from one mechanic to another)
    Copeland manual says that is an R-502 LT or R-12 HT and so assuming it has mineral oil and no oil pump
    and running on R-502 you might get by using MP-39 with expansion valve change as the original probably was an MOP valve or it has a CPR valve that will not allow operating at med temp pressures.
    Oil pumps were added on to newer small Copeland semi-hermetics for POE oil applications (R-134a 404a etc.) as they found POE does not mist or vaporize to wet the crankcase and lower cylinder areas
    The next concern is how many btu's will the coil produce at +25 compared to -25F
    Copeland capacity chart on a KAN2-0050 states 1030 btu @-25 and 5860 btu @ +45 that's 5 times more heat for the condensor to get rid of which chemi-cool voiced concerns about also
    Hot beer is not good on your reputation and the history of retro-fitting old units is full of horror stories