Air Warmer using Refrigeration Technology

Hello,

Firstly i would like to say that i am not a refrigeration engineer, and that I only understanding the basic principles of refrigeration, so please be kind with your comments. I appreciate this may be in the wrong area of the forums, or should not be here all together, but i would like to know if possible...

Could you use a refrigeration loop to be used as a forced are heater?

For example, i would like to have a compressor with the inlet open to atmosphere, this may require a pump? Instead of cooling the condenser, I would like to apply a gentle heat while hoping to reach 3-4Bar pressure and maintaining an ambient temperature or higher. I would then look to apply 1000W for example onto the evaporator so that as the pressurized air expands, it draws the heat out before using the suction line as an exhaust giving me a nice warming flow of air.

Thank you in advance for your comments.

Re: Air Warmer using Refrigeration Technology

I don't know what you want to achieve with such a system...
    You would end up with an efficiency below 1, in our game we aim for at least 5.

Is there a reason for the 3-4 Bar of air pressure?
    Otherwise we would use what is commonly known as a fan heater, you can pick a 2.2kW one of those for about a tenner at any DIY shop and most supermarkets...

Sounds like you have never heard of a small ac unit in heat mode.

Look at almost every heat pump available in North America. They use refrigerant to heat air.

BTW, much better to heat water in the floor.

Quote Originally Posted by MikeHolm View Post
    Look at almost every heat pump available in North America. They use refrigerant to heat air.
    Ah,
    But there is an important difference there. The air to air heat pump, as well as air to water and all other types of heat pumps commercially available, are recirculating refrigerant...