Refrigeration power calculation

Hi guys

This must be my 1st post, at least for a few years

Is there somewhere a way to calculate what power an evaporator or a condenser is?

For instance, I have a condenser 4/20x300 fin 2,5 with a 16W/D250 (27°) fan.

How can I covert this to f.i. 1/4Hp?

It is a troubling question for me, first of all because I am not a refrigeration engineer but a mechanical engineer
    and then 'cause I still haven't figured out what f.i. (again) an 1/4Hp refrigerating power means for a compressor, the refrigerating power stated by the manufactures in Watts does not compute!!!!

Thank you in advance!!!!

Re: Refrigeration power calculation

Anybody help? Please!!!!!

Just a link would suffice!!!!!!

Thanks

Hi Nikos,
    The formula is a complex calculation. Comes down to total effective surface area and heat transfer factors which includes coil air dwell time, volumes and velocities.
    Most coil manufacturers here will state capacity in degrees K'. Example: evaporator 3500watts at 6'K system TD. TD is evaporating temp of liquid, and the air on temperature. Or air on at -18'C and evap temp -24'C
    Kueba Germany used to publish the formula, I will see if I still have it somewhere.

Thamks a lot, i wiil be waiting.

Nikos, you will have just a rough guess, capacity is indeed as Magoo stated related to some factors but we don't know the k- factor of your coil, only the manufacturer can give you this.
    I would like to add to Magoo's parameters, straight fins or waffled fins, rectangular pattern or not, rippled fins or not, bypass factor of the coil, air volume of the fans,...
    To give you a rough guess: the cm³ of the coil - so a coil of 100 x 100 x 10 cm gives 100000 cm³ - will condense +/-17 kW (/5.8) with an air speed over the coils of at least 3 m/s at a DT of 15K (2 mm fin spacing, rectangular pattern 35 x 35 mm and 3/8 or 1/2" tube)