MrAir Guest

Best temprature control method for walk in freezer? Thermostat or Pressure switch

Hi Guys,

Forum newbie here, decided to quit lurking the shadows and ask a question.

What is the best temperature control method for a small walk in freezer, thermostat or pressure switches? I have delt with bolth and feel that a digital temperature control should be standard but i keep seeing systems setup with only the pressure switches controling the temp. Maybe someone could set me straight.

Thanks, Jon

Re: Best temprature control method for walk in freezer? Thermostat or Pressure switch

So much trouble there with using the L.P. switch for temperature control. Low pressure switches should used for just that purpose only. Ambient temperature variations and expansion valve hunting after startup makes it difficult to accurately set L.P. as a thermostat. I still preferre the Penn A19ABC-41 over the digital control as the storm season here messes with our mains power and in turn fries any electronics. BTW, cyclones are no help either. Apart from that, i'd recommend electronic temp controls.. Mike.
    To the optimist, the glass is half full. To the pessimist, the glass is half empty.

Re: Best temprature control method for walk in freezer? Thermostat or Pressure switch

carel digit controller, ir33.... lp switch for safety purposes only..... my opinion anyway

MrAir Guest

Thanks for your feedback!
    I feel that the pressure switch only is sort of old school but I keep getting other service techs coming along behind me removing digital controls and going back to the pressure switches only setup.
    Jon

Quote Originally Posted by MrAir View Post
    Thanks for your feedback!
    I feel that the pressure switch only is sort of old school but I keep getting other service techs coming along behind me removing digital controls and going back to the pressure switches only setup.
    Jon