Thread: pls comment

Question pls comment

Hi dear sirs
    We use copper tube for evaporative condenser. As we all know,the thermal conductive resistance is mainly at tube outside. I consider if we can add copper fin to the tube (like normal cooling coil)and increase the outside surface and get more heat rejection. Is it feasible ? May be a silly thinking,don't laugh at me,only make your comment- thanks

regards
    LC

Re: pls comment

I will confess that I am not an expert on Evaporative Condensers, but increasing the thermal conductivity without impairing air flow is always a good idea if you can achieve it.

But please consider one further point.

Evaporative condensers are prone to poor maintenance in the field. So much so that laws exist in this country (UK) and probably elsewhere, regarding their use. In this country, the laws demand notification to the local authorities and a maintenance system in place to counteract Legionella.
    This means that the water system must contain biocide chemicals and other inhibitors.
    So my point is to make sure that your materials in contact with the water are not affected by the water treatment chemicals in use and there is no cathodic reaction with the metals.
    Most condensers, to my knowledge, have protective barriers on the metal parts.

I cannot say what chemicals are used. You will need to do some research. Water treatment is a separate discipline.

Hope this points you in the right direction.
    ________
    gm foods
    Last edited by Argus; 07-02-2011 at 08:36 AM.

HI LC,

Secondary heat transfer surface on evaporative condensers is a bad idea. Please let me explain.

Evaporative condensers are difficult to keep clean even with good water treatment. Adding secondary heat transfer surface to the tubing (primary surface) increases the potential for very fast accumulation of minerals, etc.