ASHP + Maritime Location

We have been asked to install an ASHP in a maritime location in North Wales. We have some concerns about the humidity levels at low ambients which may increase defrosts, and also the effect of the saline environment on the outdoor aspect of the installation.

We have spoken to manufacturers who are recommending a Blygold coating on the HX and a lacquer spray application to any PCB along with extensive globs of grease on any obvious moving parts (ie fan motor).

We have also spoken to Environ about their enclosures, which they believe would assist, but are still la bit nervous, has anyone got any real life experiences to share?

Cheers

Jon

Re: ASHP + Maritime Location

Hi Jon,

My background is Oil & Gas Industry which comes up against some pretty harsh conditions. Ambient temperatures anywhere from -50'C to +40'C and a very harsh saline environment. All marine systems that I come across are made of stainless steel with treated HX fins (either coated or electro-tinned). If it's water cooled condensers then the end plates must be made of CuNi Copper Nickel or they simply wont last. Electrical components are generally standard off the shelf items but the stainless steel enclosure would protect them from the environment.

I would question how long a standard ASHP would last before it was corroded by the salt environment and leaked refrigerant to atmosphere. You might be lucky to see that HX last for more than 1 year.

Another problem I have faced is when standard flexible "annaconda's" are install they always seem to leak where the copper, brass and stainless mesh connect. I think the marine ones come plastic coated.

Globs of grease come as standard for all move parts.lol

We have units running about 50m from the atlantic coast for the last 6yrs without problem, with just a coated coil. Depends on the manufacturer