zygote nyc Guest

is air source good chose for heating in NYC

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this and want to know if someone can answer my question. I'm in the process of renovate my house. It's has two level total of 2200 sqft. I'm going to put in the mini split system. I have been told that it's not a good idea to use them heating in NY due to it low temperature. With all the advancement in air source heat plumps like Fujitsu 9/12RLS. Does it make sense to use air source heat plumps to heat my home instead of the gas water heat?

thanks everyone.

Re: is air source good chose for heating in NYC

Are you in the city or the state? If you have the space install a ground loop as your average air temps throughout the heating season are very low. They use ASHP in switzerland extensively with similar temps but with energy prices in the US the way they are I'd be more inclined to go to gas than an ASHP

zygote nyc Guest

I live in the suburb of New york city. I have a very small back yard 20x15ft. i don't know if it will be enough for ground loop. I don't know any one does geotherm in my area.

You could use a borehole system if you could get the rig to access the back of your house. An ASHP in NY would probably run an average COP of about 2-2.5 in the winter if running a low temp heating system.
    Depending on the cost of electricity in NY you can work out the heat load of the house and whether the bills were something you would consider acceptable

zygote nyc Guest

Bigfreeze,

I was not able to locate any local install that will do the borehole system BUt I'll continue to look in the mean time.

As for the heat load, can you tell me if there a simple way to do the calculation? rate is currently around .30 KW.

Thanks.

What are you using for heating at the moment? You can use your usage there to determine your annual heatlosses. PM me and I'll run through it with you