joshbloomberg Guest

Problems with LG split heat pump M/N LS902hpv

I'm a maintenance tech., not a certified HVAC tech., though I do have my E.P.A. certification. That said, I installed a new LG heat pump m/n LS902HPV in my friend's 400 sq.ft. shed, which he converted to a music-practice room (I warned him that having me install the unit would void the warranty: I brazed in a 3/8 inch schrader tee port to avoid trying to purchase the gauge port coupler). The unit ran well in air conditioning mode on the day I installed it, as it was warm outside. On the first cold day (35 degrees F.), I tested the heat. When I set the setpoint at 84 F., the symbol on the remote was the flame icon, while the blower unit's display offered a defrost icon. The blower unit ran on low speed for 30 seconds and then stopped. The outdoor condenser never ran. I tried all means of resetting the entire unit, including pulling the 240V disconnect. The unit supposedly runs a self-diagnostic for thermistor errors, but nothing came up on the screen. Additionally, when I checked for the ambient temperature on the remote, I received a reading of 74 d. F., while the indoor's ambient was as cool as the outdoor's. Is the temperature sensor in the remote or in the blower unit? I successfully ran the cooling mode (and it was cooling, even with an ambient as low as 40), but nothing I did would bring on the heat. What's probably wrong?

Re: Problems with LG split heatpump LS902HPV

hi josh, was the unit pumped down so you could transport it ? did you use OFN in the pipwork when you brazed it? was it pressure tested ? was it vaced out?
    sorry did not understand you had to braze a 3-8 schrader tee?
    come back with some more facts please . sedgy

joshbloomberg Guest

Sedgy,