Tawny Guest

Question Fujitsu indoor unit removal

Hi all -

I need the repaint the walls in a room with an indoor unit (ASTA09LFC) for a Fujitsu heat pump system.

What would be involved in taking down the indoor unit so that I can repaint? I'm a qualified electrical engineer, so that side of things isn't an issue, but what about the pipes going to the outdoor unit? Is it effectively a sealed unit where the indoor unit can't be removed without remedial installation work anyway? And what's the procedure for removal anyway?

If anyone could give me some pointers it'd be very much appreciated.

I don't know who originally installed the system, and as much as I'm sure an installer would do a great job, I could really do without having to pay someone a few hundred dollars just to repaint the walls!

Thanks very much
    Tawny

Re: Fujitsu indoor unit removal

hi tawny,
    well if you know the person who fitted it originally, why not give them a ring and get a price?

Tawny Guest

Quote Originally Posted by sedgy View Post
    hi tawny,
    well if you know the person who fitted it originally, why not give them a ring and get a price?
    Thanks for your reply sedgy - although I said I don't know who fitted it originally.

Besides, it must be comparatively simple to just temporarily take down an indoor unit, surely? It feels like I'm missing something completely obvious.

If it's just for decorating purposes, why do you need to remove the indoor fan coil?

When the wall is painted and then the fan coil is re-fitted, you won't see the wall behind the fan coil anyway?

Seems like an un-necessary expense to me.

hi tawny,
    no your not missing something obvious, its just that to the untrained person there are LOTS of pitfalls to the simple job of removing the indoor unit
    loosing gas
    getting air in the system
    getting moister in the system
    getting blown off the ladder by an explosion of gas
    getting badly burned by the gas