centrifugal compressor.

Hey , I am new to centrifugal compressor .compressor will be commissioned next year.
    We have a propane centrifugal compressor whose settle out pressure is around 8-9 kg/cm2g .suction pressure is around 3.4 kg2 /cm2 a . In case we start the compressor then settle out pressure will increase the system resistance on discharge side and compressor will not be able to deliver. I am not very clear about starting of compressure at this settle out pressure. Antisurge valve has been provided but how will compressor respond when suction volume will be lower than minimum required flow , during starting load will be less . Can anybody help me on this ??

Re: centrifugal compressor.

Let me try to decode your problem. You have a centrifugal compressor (I assume a refrigeration compressor) which is designed for a max discharge pressure of 8 bar, and a suction presure of 3.4 bar (I assume bar gauge both).
    For propane that would correspond to a condensing pressure of 14°C approx and evaporating temperature of -20°C approx (provided the temperatures corresponding to pressures are saturated).

Now, if this is correct, I assume you have a heat exchanger on the high side, suitable for providing and ensuring the correct heat transfer at 14°C (e.g. a propane to chilled water exchanger).

As for the second question, again I'm not completely confident I fully understand, but anyway if for any reason the mass flow on the suction is restricted, the result is a lowering suction pressure.
    In refrigeration, you would input the suction pressure to an inverter drive, for reducing the compressor speed as the mass flow rate reduces.
    Last edited by NoNickName; 19-07-2010 at 03:38 PM.

Becareful of surging.

Never mind piewie. They post their question, but never care to feedback or thank.

Quote Originally Posted by NoNickName View Post