2013



Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    What to use to replace R600a


    Hi everyone this is my first post. My brothers fridge appears to be short of R600a. Living in Australia and having no experiance with this refrigerant and the local suppliers not being able to help me out I was just wondering if there was an alternative to this. Hopefully R134a. It is a capilliary system.

    Any help would be great.



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    darwin
    Age
    37
    Posts
    13
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: What to use to replace R600a

    Beware R600a is flamable. why do you say it is slightly short of gas. you can take the gas out and add r134a but you may have to put more charge in. but make sure you are 100% sure it is short of gas. You will have to find the leak repair it and then recharge the system. If its a domestic fridge and you have to get it fixed then the cost of fixing would be the same as a second hand fridge or a new one.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    45
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: What to use to replace R600a

    134A can be used on capillary but like KKboy said R600A is a propane/ Butane Mix so it is highly flamable!
    Your best bet is to maybe consider looking at a new fridge, it might be cheaper?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    53
    Posts
    48
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: What to use to replace R600a

    R600a use minerale oil. R134a use POE or PAG oil.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Merate (LC) - Italy
    Age
    43
    Posts
    2,556
    Rep Power
    14

    Re: What to use to replace R600a

    R600a is flammable but only when it comes in contact with Oxygen and a source of ignition.
    R600a is butane. You can easily find it from the local BOC agent in OZ:
    BOC Gases Australia Limited
    82 Barklay Hwy, Mt Isa QLD 4825

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Age
    53
    Posts
    48
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: What to use to replace R600a

    R600a is the dominating refrigerant for household appliances in West-Europe. I assume you need to refill a freezer or fridge at home and if so it needs only 50 to 100 grams of gas. In worst case i would look for a dry-butane (95%) same as you use to refill a cigarett lighter. I dont think you loose to much efficiency from that.

    In such small amounts... the gas is considered as harmless. If above 500 grams i would be more worried.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    south africa
    Age
    56
    Posts
    6
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: What to use to replace R600a

    use 406a as a drop in but first get rid of the r600 via vacuum pump will have to increase the charge substantialy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Croatia
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: What to use to replace R600a

    HI guys, i have a same problem ..may fridge was loosing gas (R600a)...have fixed the leak and i am now thinking of replacing it with somthing else...whats the alternative ? (if there is any one..) thx

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    80
    Rep Power
    6

    Re: What to use to replace R600a

    If the compressor in the refrigerator worked on the R600 must continue to work on the R600.
    Using another factor, instead of R600 will damage the engine because it is a low power, R 600 works on negative pressure of about minus 0.5 bar and the other factors do not work in vacuum, it will be too small refrigeration compressor.

    Best to find leaks. remove it, just take a vacuum and fill in as much importance as the R600 is indicated on the nameplate.

    Mineral oil of course work in such a system.

    R134a can be used but must be replaced at a gas compressor, blow out the layout and you need to know the cooling power of the device because I like to overdo it with the power refrigeration compressor boil because of the small condenser

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    India
    Age
    30
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: What to use to replace R600a

    hello everyone.............

Similar Threads

  1. R600a
    By Andy W in forum Domestic
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 27-09-2011, 08:14 PM
  2. From R600a to R12
    By mlfather in forum Refrigerants
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-08-2009, 03:55 PM
  3. R600a as drop-in for R12 in car ac?
    By Knusti in forum Fundamentals
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-06-2009, 12:22 AM
  4. r600a or 134a
    By Minestrone Dave in forum Refrigerants
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-06-2008, 07:57 AM
  5. R600a in USA residential refrigerators?
    By robatalha in forum New Technologies
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24-10-2007, 03:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •