kevinfitz06 Guest

Auxillary Contactor

Im just getting into the refrigeration field, I am getting exposed to supermarket refrigeration mainly. So that means I will be working on rack systems. I got a chance to look at a control panel and was simply amazed. One question that has been bugging me is what the function of an auxillary contactor is? Basically there were three breakers for each of the compressors, but there were four contactors, and i was told thats an auxillary contactor... I didnt get a chance to ask why it is used. All what was told to me dont have both of them engerized. Can anybody help me out?

Re: Auxillary Contactor

Try a career change to something that you understand and are comfortable with.

Brian_UK is offline Moderator I am starting to push the Mods: of RE Site Moderator : and general nice guy

Perhaps it is relating to the motor starter.

Depending on size the start method changes, try looking at start/delta or part wind starting systems.
    Brian - Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
    Retired March 2015

Hi Kevin welcome to the site. The term auxillary contactor normally used when the cotactor is used in the control circuit for performing a logical operation rather than used as normal power contactor.

Quote Originally Posted by Magoo View Post
    Try a career change to something that you understand and are comfortable with.
    Magoo, this is what this forum was made for, asking questions. easy and difficult ones, clever and stupids, long and short questions. But every question is a hunger to information and help.
    It's better to keep your mouth shut and give the impression that you're stupid than to open it and remove all doubt.

Quote Originally Posted by kevinfitz06 View Post