Waste Heat Recovery System Research

Hello RE.com!
    I've been lurking around this forum for awhile reading and trying to learn from the immense depth of knowledge that exists here.
    I’m a graduate student at the Colorado State University Engines and Energy Conversion Lab and we are working on installing a waste heat recovery system to do some research on.
    The quick run down of the system is:
    Working Fluid: R245fa
    Hot Side: 90C Propylene Glycol/Water from internal combustion engine exchanged through a plate HEX
    Cold Side: Forced Draft Dry Condenser
    Expander: Tesla Turbine

I am starting this thread to keep you updated on the progress of installing and commissioning the system, and in return, I would like to pose some questions that are refrigeration specific.

Feel free to ask any questions about the project. I'll gladly answer.

I've attached some pictures of our major components (condenser, plate HEX, and turbine).
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Waste Heat Recovery System Research

Hi nickbike, this subject is something I have been looking at, (more to do with application than manufacture)
    I presume you are looking at trying to convert your thermal energy into electrical energy, what level of conversion are you looking for (normally just over 10% I think.)
    for example 500Kw heat converted to 50Kw electrical. Does this conversions include the extra power required to drive the condensing fans.

We were wanting to hit a 6-10% cycle efficiency. This does include the power required for the pump, but does NOT include the condenser fans.