Question Car AC Compressor Conversion

Hello,
    I am a final year student from a polytechnic in Nigeria. We are required as part of our group project to develop a cheap Water Freezer that will be powered from an internal combustion engine.

We have decided in our group to use the AC compressor of cars since they are belt driven. The problem now is that
    1. What is the average maximum power rating that we can obtain from a single compressor.
    2. What will be a suitable refrigerant for this conversion.

Urgently Yours,

Shadeyinka

Re: Car AC Compressor Conversion

At normal ambients, when used on a car these could range from 2 to 3kw. However the duty will be much less when used at the lower temperatures that you plan. Car A/C compressor have not been designed to operate constantly on low pressures. If you get one of a modern car, post 1995 the compressor will have been made to operate on R134a. Whilst this refrigerant is not ideal for freezer applications, you may be able to get it to work. You will need an expansion valve or other metering device to control the refrigerant flow, a suitable drier, a low pressure safety switch and a controlling thermostat. Most car A/C systems use purpose made hoses and connections which are not always compatible with commercial refrigeration products.
    Sounds like an interesting project. Good luck and work safely.
    Last edited by hyperion; 13-05-2010 at 01:44 PM.
    Mobile A/C at its best, see avatar.
    Bedford. Now retired and trying to relax.

Thanks Hyperion,
    You have indeed been helpful. At least I know the approximate rating of the
    internal combustion engine to use with the Car AC compressor.

2 to 3kW sounds impresive. Is is possible that cascading two car AC compressors
    will produce the continous low pressure at the suction side?

I know that some refrigerants are not compartible with some plastic or rubber
    valves of the compressor. I wonder if that is a case to worry about suppose i