Getting ARCtick license in Australia

Hi there just wondered if anyone might have some advice for me on this matter.

I'm from the U.K. where I am a service engineer with an NVQ 2 and City and Guilds Gas Handling. I have come out to Australia on a 1 year working holiday visa.

I've been here 3 months now doing all sorts of work including Gardening and Pizza making as I have had absolutely no luck finding a job in Fridge or A/C.

I've decided to look back into it again as money is pretty tight but the problem I'm having is not having the license to do the job.

I've looked into ARCtick who put me onto the TRA. TRA then put me onto VETASSES and it looks like to get my license I have to have my qualifications looked at by applying for Skilled Migration while in the UK.

Well this seems daft as I dont necessarilly want to migrate I just want to work at what I do best while I'm out here plus I'm in Australia already.

Well if anyone has any advice for me it would be very much appreciated and if theres no hope I'll have to get back to tossing those pizzas.

Many thanks lads!

Re: Getting ARCtick license in Australia

im heading out to oz next week on a WHV and have about 6 interviews lined up when i get there.

Which area are you applying for work? Try to stay away from all the big HVAC companies as they all demand restricted electrical licence and ARKtic licence aswell. try and get in with a small company who install residential units cos they dont really mind because you will be leaving in a few months anyway.

If you get lucky, they could sponsor you and your visa can be extended, and could look into doing all the licences then with that company, thats only if your planning on staying longer though

I worked out there for a while.