Dual evaporator system using a junction block and solenoid

Hi all,

I recently joined and this is my first post. I am a mechanical engineering student and working on my senior design project which just so happens to be a solar powered bulk-liquid refrigerator. Before I ask my question I would like to give some background information:

- refrigerator is using a direct expansion heat exchanger to cool goats milk to 40 F
    - before going into the refrigerator, the milk will be passed through an immersion chiller
    - the water being pumped through the immersion chiller will be chilled (hopefully by the same compressor used to chill the milk)

My question: Can one compressor be used to circulate refrigerant through two different evaporator systems using a junction block and a switching solenoid? I planned to use the same condenser.

It seems trivial but I wanted to ask the experts and get a feel for how common this is implemented and any other ideas you all may have.

Thanks

Brian_UK is offline Moderator I am starting to push the Mods: of RE Site Moderator : and general nice guy

Re: Dual evaporator system using a junction block and solenoid

You can have as many evaporators as your condensing unit will handle, be it one large one or several smaller ones. Imagine it as a supermarket system.
    http://sporlan.jandrewschoen.com/5-180.pdf

Investigate the use of EPR (evaporator pressure regulator) valves to control the temperature of each evaporator.

Information here --
    http://sporlan.jandrewschoen.com/prvs.shtm

Sorry, forgot my manners - welcome to the forum, hope you enjoy it.
    Brian - Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
    Retired March 2015

Thanks for the quick reply.