Hybrid View

Question Ammonia Containment

Hi, I'm new to the ammonia refrigeration and just would like to get some comments regarding this. The ammonia equipment room at present is located on an open space adjacent to an existing building and an open lot on other side. There is a roof to shelter it from the rain but the area is otherwise open. We are planning to construct containment around the vessels to contain the liquid in case of leak, etc. Also we initially thought of constructing walls around the area and install fans on the roofing to disperse the gases to higher elevation. However, there was also an idea to install mists nozzles to absorb the gases in the room in case of gas leak.
    I am not sure as to the correct practice or codes (if any) apply here. Also, if we use water to absorb the ammonia gas, how do we get rid of the water ? Can we just dispense this into the sewer ?
    Can the more experience guys help by giving some comments and especially references where I can find the correct design / procedures ?

Re: Ammonia Containment

Hi, finally decided to go ahead with the construction of the walls around the machine room area and install mist nozzles also based on the suggestions from others outside this forum site.
    As we will of course install exhaust fans for evacuation of the ammonia in case of leak, just wanted to ask if I can use this as normal ventilation fans for the room. Or does current practice require these to be separate and I have to provide separate fans for ventilation ? Also for fresh air, can I just install grilles on the walls or does it necessarily have to be a supply fan ?
    For the roofing, I was thinking of some polycarbonate sheets to allow more natural light in. However, it seems polycarbonate and ammonia is not very compatible. If anyone has used this before, is there very appreciable deterioration ?
    Would welcome what the others think regarding this idea.

AndrewU