coldrange Guest

Aluminum coil evaporator for NH3

Hi I am a purchasing officer, not a refrigeration engineer. I want to know if the Aluminum coil evaporator is good for ammonia refrigeration system? And what are the problem in the future if we use this kind of product in the future?
    I got some doubt because some of our engineers agree to use aluminum coil evaporator and others are disagree.

Re: Aluminum coil evaporator for NH3

Hi Cold range.
    Nothing wrong with aluminim ammonia coils, there are millions of them in service world wide.
    Problems start if you clean them with chemicals, pitting corrosion etc..
    Just make shaw they are seamless tubes and have an international design rating.

If coil manufacturer has a good record of building quality coils and designed to a suitable engineering standard I do not see a problem. As Magoo stated, chemicals in contact with aluminum is one area to be very careful of. Some of these cleaning agents will drastically shorten the life expectancy of the equipment.
    If all else fails, ask for help.

coldrange Guest

thanks for the info guys..

They are quite common and reliable, however I have seen the distributor tubes snap off the coils where they are welded in after a few years. Very difficult to repair.
    I have never had a problem with the flooded ones though.
    And Caustic cleaners will destroy them very quickly. Only a problem if sanitation workers are cleaning them though.

NH3LVR.
    You have got it in one.
    The biggest problem I have is the cleaning staff. Usually taking short cuts at end of production so as to get home earlier.
    Trashing spirals, ripping galv off floors and coils, even paint off panel.
    I live in fear at night, of a call to say that another spiral destacked due to ice because it was quicker to defrost with water with belt running, or a safety eaten to death with chemicals.or a safety vav blown off because someone decided that 80 'C water was a quicker defrost on a coil.