llcooljerome Guest

best route to get in

hey all this is my first post. im going to get straight to the point. i work full time as a hospital porter but really want to get into the refrigeration sector. i have done a lot of research on the net and have found companies such as ellis training, which offer various courses such as f-gas and split air con. i picked up the yellow pages and called all around surrounding areas(oxford) and asked what is the best way to get in and also what they thought on doing such a course like with ellis training. some thought ellis was a good start and some thought its just simply not enough. others thought distance learning was a suitable alternative but i really dont know what to do from here. i hope you guys have some ideas for me bearing in mind i work full time? any help will be very appreciative. either way im going to do something and just be persistent with it as doing something is better than doing nothing but really hope you have some other options or ideas for me. thanks jerome

Re: best route to get in

I commend you for trying to upskill.
    Refrigeration is the best of trades and the worst of trades.
    I would at this early stage start with a slightly different approach.
    Go to your local refrig wholesaler, and get a component catalog, Then reasearch each level of components, whilst doing this drawing a picture of the system. Hopefully this would give you a good grounding before you pay for external instruction.
    Some very good engineers have come from the "stores" side of the business
    Also when you go for a job, product knowledge also helps

nevgee is offline Veteran Poster I am starting to push the Mods: of RE

Depends on lots of things. Your age, previous technical knowledge, school qualifications etc. You need to have an aptitude for mechanical, electrical and some science.

You could do a night school course at a tech college ... but eventually you'll need to find an employer to take you on.