Thread: College

College

Hey I've been an ac apprentice for 6 months now. My company are trying to get me in to a college for September. The college they want me too go too won't take me as I'm 20 years old and haven't got grades a - c in maths English and science. This has put a downer on me what's the chances of me getting in to a college? My company wouldn't get rid of me if I didn't go college but I can't go for other jobs when I'm older as I wouldn't have the certificates. I absoloutley love my job just hope I get in to a college.

Re: College

Quote Originally Posted by Deano240 View Post
    Hey I've been an ac apprentice for 6 months now. My company are trying to get me in to a college for September. The college they want me too go too won't take me as I'm 20 years old and haven't got grades a - c in maths English and science. This has put a downer on me what's the chances of me getting in to a college? My company wouldn't get rid of me if I didn't go college but I can't go for other jobs when I'm older as I wouldn't have the certificates. I absoloutley love my job just hope I get in to a college.

Which college were you trying for?

Gravesend college

Quote Originally Posted by Deano240 View Post
    Gravesend college
    If you are over 19 your company will have to pay for you. Because you are over 19 you do not have to do key skills (maths, english and IT).

So there is no requirements for you to have a to c's in your core subjects, but if Gravesend set that as a minimum, that is their call and they can set the bar at any height they want.

Ask them if you can do an entrance exam to prove your knowledge and try to get in that way.

I can understand their selectin process, because level 2 does require you to do sciences and maths.

Cheers taz.

luke2009 Guest