nicholaslsa Guest

Is R22 - Chlorodifluoromethane corrosive?

Hi guys,

I'm new in RE, please help me out on this matter.

I've a problem in this refrigerant gas R22, a leak in the system as cause some paint to be "eaten up".

I'll like to know if R22 is corrosive? As I could not find any infomation of it on the net.

Thanks

Re: Is R22 - Chlorodifluoromethane corrosive?

probably system oil reacting with paint
    mmm to beer or not to beer...........lets drink breakfast

Brian_UK is offline Moderator I am starting to push the Mods: of RE Site Moderator : and general nice guy

Extreme temperature difference could have damaged paint.

Try searching the web again, there is a wealth of data sheets out there.
    Brian - Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
    Retired March 2015

Hi Nicholasla
    Welcome to RE. R22 becomes acidic when exposed to moisture or over heating, the oil as mentioned above.

use a better quality paint applied as per instructions,the only thing i know about 22 being corrosive is that it tends to scour the pipework due to velocity i think.

can anybody enlighten me on this autoduh has kicked in
    Last edited by lowcool; 06-08-2009 at 01:05 AM.
    mmm to beer or not to beer...........lets drink breakfast

All the HCFC and CFC refrigerants are solvents and most will dilute oil-based paints...and many familiar solvents were subject to the same limitations as refrigerants in consequence of the Montreal Protocol.

The original dry cleaning fluids are chemically similar to most refrigerants: This from Wikipedia: