Some help for me please.

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and look forward to reading more about refrigeration. I am not a fridge repairer by school but I have been repairing my fridges for forty years.

I have a walk in cold room which is 1 horse power compresser using r12 gas. It had a gas leak. I have repaired the pipe work and my gas bottle was finished and there is no more available anymore. I have used lpg gas which I flushed through the loose pipework first then gassed the machine until the sight glass was full.

The fridge is working well, it is actually colder than it was now i have set the pressure switch and the suction pipe at the compresser is wet with condensation when the machine is running for a while.

My question is that on my blue guage it shows that it is almost on zero when the machine runs and the room is cold. When it was using r12 gas the guage was around 100kpaskals when it was this temperature. Will this damage the motor or do you think it will be fine.

Thanks for reading and halping.

The compresser is an 220 volt Electrolux but the numbers have gone. It is definitely one horse power.

Re: Some help for me please.

Hi Frikkie,

Please be very careful. Only use LPG for systems specifically designed for that gas. Rather use a drop in replacement like R413A.

Moenie kanse vat nie!

Why are you using LPG? This can not replace R12 and you won't get the same results, and seeing it is a fuel I'd be worried about it coming in contact with the electric motor in the compressor!!!
    www.compactaircon.co.uk

Hi coolstuff, thanks for the advice, the only drop in we have around here is 134a but I was told that it causes oil problems. I used it on one of my bitzer compressers and had to rebuild it wit new bearings after less that a year. Until I have other gasses I must take the chance.
    Dankie boet.

Hello Carl Foster