Foamy oil in sight glass

I have been a ammonia tech for 1 year now and the guy I work with is a boring trainer. We have a 58,000 lb ammonia high temp perishable facility of 700,000 square feet with 7 Frick TDSH screws. Of the 7 screws you can only see oil in three of the sight glasses one of which is foamy. I mentioned this to my mentor and he said no worry if they run out of oil it will just cut out. I am CARO certified so I have been studying my RETA manuals and remember reading about foamy oil in the sight glass as a possiblity of liquid in the oil seperator. He doesn't think so. What does everyone else think?

Re: Foamy oil in sight glass

Tell us more ..

Is it top sight glass ?
    Have the other screws got same oil level ?
    Does it have liquid injection oil cooling ? What type
    What is discharge and oil temps ?
    Are the compressors all on same system high/low temp ?

Sometimes foam on top of oil is nothing to worry about as its just the refigerant boiling out of the oil as its hotter than the saturated discharge temp .

Hi, Ranger1

Quote Originally Posted by RANGER1 View Post
    Tell us more ..

Is it top sight glass ?
    Have the other screws got same oil level ?
    Does it have liquid injection oil cooling ? What type
    What is discharge and oil temps ?
    Are the compressors all on same system high/low temp ?

Sometimes foam on top of oil is nothing to worry about as its just the refigerant boiling out of the oil as its hotter than the saturated discharge temp .
    Good questions..

one more maybe... Is the oil pressure ok and constant?

Some of those units are equipped with low oil level float and oil could be invisible within oil sight glass...but unit is capable to work fine ... after stop oil level is visible...

... in case of lack of oil this float will stop the unit ... also due to low oil level there is no permission signal from float for start...

Best regards, Josip