Residential A/C - Indoor air temp. off the chart?

Hi everyone, excited to be a new member.

I am a serice technician for an apartment complex and this week has brought high temperatures and high humidity and I have a problem.

I was checking the refrigerant charge on one of our air conditioners today, which is a 1.0 ton R-22 split system. I was using the charging chart supplied with the condensing unit and the indoor air temperature entering the evaporator was 85* F, but the chart only goes up to 76* F.

What would you do in this sort of situation?

Thanks!

Re: Residential A/C - Indoor air temp. off the chart?

I would first check to see if it was a TXV or cap tube system.

Thanks for replying Gary, and I'm sorry it has capillary tubes.

Upon further inspection it appears the error is on my part, I was taking a "dry bulb" temperature as opposed to a "wet bulb" temperature.

I guess I'll have to look into buying something to take a wet bulb temperature. Can you recommend such a tool? I'd like something that looks a little more professional than a thermometer with a wet rag around it : )

No offense to anyone : )

You want to start with airflow. Airflow through both coils has an enormous effect on temperatures and pressures, so make sure you have good airflow through both coils before you do anything else.

I use drybulb temps for everything. I measure the temps entering and leaving the coils (measured close to the coils). I'm looking for about 20F dT (air in/out difference) across the evap coil. Much more than this is an airflow problem. Much less than this is either high air in temp and/or not enough refrigerant in the low side.

When the air at the thermostat is down to temp setting, I want the air leaving the coil to be about 20F lower than the temp at the thermostat and I fine tune the airflow (blower speed) to achieve this. Why? Because that coil leaving air when it warms to room temp will be about 50%RH.