Controlling on/off valve

Hi everyone,

I'd like to ask assistance in solving a technical/control issue for a system I'm working with. I'm a mechanical design engineer, new to the hvac industry & very inexperienced on the practical control side. So, please bear with me.

Concept:
    Open the valve, when the compressor operates
    Close the valve, when the compressor is off.

I've included two sketches below of my thoughts.

Technical questions:
    I'm looking for a budget, simple way on how to do this.
    What type of valve?
    How to convert the compressor ON/OFF to a valve OPEN/CLOSE operation (controller, switch?)
    Can the compressor activation signal (controller, or otherwise) be used to activate the valve? If so, how?

Help from the forum guru's would be ever so gratefully accepted. Thanks folks.
    Last edited by desA; 14-05-2009 at 04:34 AM.

Re: Controlling on/off valve

In accordance with the information you have provided, switch the drive of the valve through an additional NO (normally open) contact on the compressor's contactor. Unless you describe the system the compressor and the valve are parts of, I suspect, nobody will give you a better advice.

yuri b is spot on .... end of thread

Quote Originally Posted by Yuri B. View Post
    In accordance with the information you have provided, switch the drive of the valve through an additional NO (normally open) contact on the compressor's contactor.
    Thanks, Yuri.

So, can I take it that you're saying that you can drive a solenoid valve via an NO (normally-open) contactor from the compressor?

This would make good sense - nice & simple.

I'd been trying to work through having to use a lower-power control circuit etc, but a direct power contact from the compressor would seem to be very elegant.