Sizing an evaporator

Hi,

I am a student working on a project, and I need help sizing an evaporator from a strictly conceptual view. I have the temperature that I wish to maintain the coldspace at, the evaporator refrigerant temperature, and Im going to assume my capacity is 3hp (does this seem like a standard capacity?)

Anyways, I still have 2 unknowns, U and A. (Using Q=UA(T2-T1), or should I use the NTU method?)

I'm not sure how to get U, I know if I select the tube materials/geometry, determine the air and refrigerant flow rates, I can calculate U for a smooth tube. But how do I adjust U for finned tubes?

I'm assuming that once I get U, I can solve for the area needed. But does is the area affected by the fact that im using finned tubes? or can i just use the area of smooth tubes to size it?

I guess what I'm asking are equations are used to determine the overall heat transfer coefficient. I'll select an operating point, so I'll have the enthalpies, temps, flow rates, etc. But i don't know how to get U. I was going to use copper tubes and an air flow rate between 350~600 CFM. But I only have equations for smooth tubes, and I really dont know much about enhanced tubes.

Please advise. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Re: Sizing an evaporator

Almost all the methods involve an estimated fin effectiveness and the ratio of prime area (tube) to secondary area (fin, less tube holes). How densely you can pack fins, and your air velocities, depends on what your frost concerns; dehumidifiaction; filtration and moisture carryover concerns might be. Note that at air conditioning type conditions, your load may be as much latent (moisture removal) as it is sensible.

Actually, the finned tube side of an evaporator for a given duty is not that difficult to derive and model for a clean, dry fin; gets a little more involved once a film of water is factored in because both cleanliness and gravity will play a large role.