Hybrid View

Question

i hav a hotpoint mistral fridge freezer, the fridge is not doing anything, i am a fridge engineer but have never looked at domestic kit so not 2 sure about the controls, the compressor, gas and condensor fan are all working ok, the evap fan in the freezer isnt starting up but has no power 2 it and door switch is working ok as i unplugged a sensor and the fan did kick in, is this fan supposed 2 run continuousley like on commercial kit? There are 2 sensors, 1 in the fridge and 1 in the freezer but im guessing they are ok as they are both displaying the right temp, -20 freezer, +17 fridge, so does anybody know how the fridge temp is controlled eg airflow and cooling as i have never looked at domestic before, thanks in advance
    Last edited by chillin out; 17-04-2009 at 08:27 PM.

Re: domestic problems- hotpoint mistral fridge/freezer

If you were to do a search on this site you would have found numerous posts about this problem.

Replace the probe that is fastened to the evaporator in the freezer section (the icey bit).

Chillin
    IF AT FIRST YOU DON`T SUCCEED.
    DESTROY ALL EVIDENCE THAT YOU TRIED!
    and go get a cuppa

Smile Re: domestic problems- hotpoint mistral fridge/freezer

yeah sorry about that, would have looked but internet down so using mobile phone which takes about an hour 2 load a page, yeah it has 2 sensors in the freezer a coil sensor and an air sensor so its the coil sensor that needs replacing, u know a good place to get 1? Dont suppose an eliwell would work on it, ha

How many compressers does it have? Is it 1 for fridge and 1 for freezer, or is it one compresser doing both? You say that fridge temp is 17 degrees, have you checked the temperture in the fridge section with a thermometer? Is iced up, if not then try changing the sensor.

Hope it helps!:

hi