kizza231188 Guest

Question Condenser Fan Speed

Hey

I am new to RE.

Is there anything bad from running a multi speed condenser fan at full speed all the time?

As in, can the liquid line temp be too cool?

Re: Condenser Fan Speed

Kizza
    with the extreme ambients operated under in australia during the summer high fan speed on condensor fans is quiet normal. some manufacturers recommend medium speed up to 38 degrees c ambients, so maybe best to consult with manufacturer.

Hi and welcome,

Using the condenser fan all the time at full speed, will have as a consequence, reduction of the cooling capacity of the system, especially at low ambient temperature. Another consequence could be reduced EER of the system.

Another thing to be aware of is if the equipment is fitted with a hot gas valve, if so running the fan constantly can pull down the LP with the result that the hot gas valve will inject hot gas into the LP in an attempt to keep the LP up. Ok in theory but it can result in the compressor overheating and eventually burning out.

Brian_UK is offline Moderator I am starting to push the Mods: of RE Site Moderator : and general nice guy

What is the full question that you have to provide an answer too?
    Brian - Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
    Retired March 2015

kizza231188 Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Brian_UK View Post
    What is the full question that you have to provide an answer too?