where do you buy a new NH3 receiver?

It is time to replace an old 1,000 gallon low pressure NH3 receiver at our facility here in Oregon.

I am an operating engineer (as opposed to a smart engineer!) and have never been involved in the purchase or design of a system, so when I discovered that we really need to replace our old receiver... Well, there just isn't an ammonia receiver store.

To be honest, my ignorance is sometimes surprising even to me, but I thought buying a new receiver would be an easy thing, just like buying pipe or valves.

Where does one go to purchase a new 1,000 gallon low pressure NH3 receiver? Any suggestions?

Re: where do you buy a new NH3 receiver?

One thing I would be very careful of... Some ASME fabrication shops can build vessels, but they may not understand how the internals are arranged or what is required. Stick to a reputable vessel manufacturer from one of the big three (Vilter, Frick, or FES) or go with one from RVS.

Here's a link for RVS. They are owned by Evapco.

http://www.evapco.com/media/pdf/asme-pressure.pdf

FYI, the vessel sizes are given in diameter X length. Gallons will not mean much to the salesman.

Another word of caution... buy a vessel bigger than you need right now. The incremental costs are reasonable for a slightly larger vessel.
    If all else fails, ask for help.

You may have to go through a Contractor to purchase a new receiver. Even if you can buy direct, the State will require you to meet standards for installing the new one that are quite difficult to get by if you do not understand the process.
    There are two NH3 Contractors in your area. I am sure you know who they are. If not PM me.
    I have seen a few instances of Stress Corrosion Cracking in HP receivers in the last couple of years. I do not know how much of a problem this has been with low temp vessels. Stress relieving is something I would not consider skipping in a new vessel.