2013



Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    malta
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    can R134a replace R22


    is it possilble to repace R22 with R134a in an air-con system, using the same compressor of R22.



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    ISRAEL
    Age
    62
    Posts
    3,618
    Rep Power
    22

    Re: can R134a replace R22

    NO!!

    It wont work.
    "All things are possible until they are proved impossible - and even the
    impossible may only be so, as of now."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    137
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: can R134a replace R22

    yes its posible if the oil is polyolester or polyvynal.
    The characteristisc of the two refrigerants mean the system will loose capacity. The tev will also require modification. You would be better off using isceon MO29 which can use the existing oil and should only require a tweak of the tev.
    Brit

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    ISRAEL
    Age
    62
    Posts
    3,618
    Rep Power
    22

    Re: can R134a replace R22

    Hi BritCit_Juve,
    When was the last time you have seen an air con system runs on R-22 with POE?

    Basically you can do it but you will have to change so many parts and loosing capacity.

    I did not think of theoretical solution but a change of refrigerant as is.

    It will not work.
    "All things are possible until they are proved impossible - and even the
    impossible may only be so, as of now."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    scotland
    Posts
    118
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: can R134a replace R22

    I'd be inclined just to use an R22 drop-in.


    what about converting to R407c?
    Last edited by richardb14; 12-10-2008 at 10:51 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    137
    Rep Power
    13

    Re: can R134a replace R22

    Hi Chemi-cool

    It depends on the unit supplier and when the item was manufactured.
    When R407C was comming in the late 1990s some manufacturers worked out that while mineral was not compatable with r407c poe was compatable with R22 so standardised on poe compressors. The TEV manufacturers converted their seals right at the begining to be compatable.
    Yes there is work to do as the TEV and its power assy will need changing as will any driers.
    I did not say I would do it but that wasn't the question. yes R134A can be used in the right application with some component changes and a lose of capacity.
    Personally I would just use R422D
    Brit

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Foshan,Guangdong,China
    Posts
    19
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: can R134a replace R22

    of course it is not possible.

Similar Threads

  1. R507 in an R134a compressor: any danger?
    By DaBit in forum Technical Speculations
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 21-12-2009, 01:44 AM
  2. Plugged Capillary R134A Connection
    By CHilly1 in forum Commercial
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24-06-2009, 07:41 AM
  3. r134a as a substitute for r22?
    By m-nelson in forum Supermarket Refrigeration
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-08-2007, 11:16 PM
  4. Pressure Transmitter R134a Setpoints
    By cooltrain in forum Technical Speculations
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28-02-2005, 10:05 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-03-2004, 10:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •