Intern Guest

Absorption Chiller VS Mech. Chiller

Hi everybody,
    I'm an Intern for process engineering and had never worked with refrigeration divisions before.
    On my research for chillers I found this nice forum and thought I can ask you guys some questions about my problem...
    The company I work for have right now an old (16 years) mechanical chiller ( Frick RWB2) . The chiller is working fine but the maintenance costs and operation costs are a litle bit high (100.000 $/year).
    My questions is now is an absorption chiller way better than this unit we got right now? Would there be a lot of savings potential with a new absorption chiller?
    The chiller is running 24/7 and we just need about 100ton/hr of refrigerant.
    Steam with 150psig is at the plant side available.

Thx

Kind Regards
    Leo

Re: Absorption Chiller VS Mech. Chiller

No, Absorption chiller is in no way better or more efficient than reciprocating. It only is useful when you happen to have lots of heat or steam that would otherwise need to be dissipated.
    In this case, heat can be used for activating the absoption cycle and later wasted. In any other case, mech cooling is more efficient.
    The best saving would just be to update that old chiller to a more modern and power efficient one.

Intern Guest

I thought there is more saving potential with an absorption chiller, good to know that its not.

Thx

GXMPLX is offline Veteran Poster I am starting to push the Mods: of RE

Quote Originally Posted by Intern View Post
    I thought there is more saving potential with an absorption chiller, good to know that its not.

Thx
    NoNickName is right! Typical COP for absorption is 1:1 while for mechanical is 3:1 (get 3 watts cool per watt of work).

Absorption is good only if you have enough free heat at the correct temperature, then you get almost free cooling.

Hi Leo