fir Guest

water-cooled chiller

Hi all Im a newbie to chiller,condenser and cooling tower which im currently working in (a building). I hope u peeps could help me out with a couple of qns
    1: I have a multistack chiller that have 6 compressors.how are the cooling tower and condenser and chillers related?
    2 : There are 3 compressors in the chiller that lately seems to have problems. the compressors will trip almost everytime we reset it. What im being told is to press the HP button in the modular and then press reset on the touch-screen sensor. But yet it still trip. The discharge pressure will rise up to 1500kpa and then trip. Then It stated "FAULT --- HP" What should I check?
    Just FYI, before I join the building, I notice there are 2 cooilng towers with 8 cooling tower fan motors in the rooftop, 3 condenser pumps and 3 chill water pumps. Now theres only 3 cooling tower fan motors and 2 chill water pumps that is running.
    ask me if you need me to include anything.cheers!

Re: water-cooled chiller

Hi,

Question no. 1: I have a multistack chiller that have 6 compressors.how are the cooling tower and condenser and chillers related?

Cooling tower cools down high pressure gas in the condenser into high pressure condensate. High Condensate in introduced to your chiller evaporator via expansion valve to Low pressure that expands to your evaporator wherein you hot media (water) cool down to the designed duty.

Question no. 2 : There are 3 compressors in the chiller that lately seems to have problems. the compressors will trip almost everytime we reset it. What im being told is to press the HP button in the modular and then press reset on the touch-screen sensor. But yet it still trip. The discharge pressure will rise up to 1500kpa and then trip. Then It stated "FAULT --- HP" What should I check?

a. What refrigerant you are using prior to setting of your HP cut-out?
    b. Is their enough water in you cooling tower?