Question How do I recover refrigerant from a non-serviceable unit?

Hi, I am new to refrigeration and recently undertook my CITB test and City Guilds in Safe Handling. I passed the C&G but on the CITB I need to go back and answer a question on recovering refrigerant from a non serviceable unit again. The question was: "describe the recovery technique for a) a serviceable unit and b) a non-servicable unit". In the last 2 weeks since the test I have looked on the internet, through the CITB safe handling book and through all my notes and I cant find any reference to a different recovery technique if the unit is non-serviceable. In my test paper I simply stated that I would use the same recovery procedure as for a serviceble unit and wrote out the procedure in full. If anyone can advise it would be much appreciated!

Re: How do I recover refrigerant from a non-serviceable unit?

I think by non servicable unit means a unit without access for gauges to be fitted. So you would have to fit line tap valves to suction line at the compressor to enable gauges to be fitted to reclaim the gas . Hope this helps

Ahh! I had assumed non-serviceable meant it wasnt working, not that it didnt have service valves... thanks!

Quick question for you, are you really a girl?
    If you are, whey to go.... good on you for entering a male dominated (or I should say 'only) trade and I hope you become one of the best.

Chillin
    IF AT FIRST YOU DON`T SUCCEED.
    DESTROY ALL EVIDENCE THAT YOU TRIED!
    and go get a cuppa

Definitely a girl! I hadnt realised it was so male dominated until I turned up on the trade course.... Will be going into business with my dad so he'll make sure I dont mess up!

Quote Originally Posted by chillin out View Post
    Quick question for you, are you really a girl?
    If you are, whey to go.... good on you for entering a male dominated (or I should say 'only) trade and I hope you become one of the best.

Chillin