a.p.re Guest

Artificial Ground Freezing

Hello,
    I’m a civil engineer and I’ve to deal with the feasibility study of a temporary support (during excavation of a shaft) using Artificial Ground Freezing.
    More precisely, I’ve to carry out the preliminary design of the refrigeration plant that will be used to freeze the soil.
    Could anyone recommend a handbook to me that deal with the problem?
    Would anyone care to mention some firms capable of constructing such a refrigeration plant?
    Thanks,
    AP

Re: Artificial Ground Freezing

HI AP,

Welcome to the RE forums.

There is nothing special about a refrigeration system used for ground freezing. It is simply a system used to cool a brine solution. The brine solution is cooled in a heat exchanger. Then the brine is pumped through many vertical pipes that are sunk into the ground in the required shape of the excavation.

The ground is frozen over some period of time and forms an ice barrier to reinforce the hole in the ground and to hold back ground water.

The difficult part is to develop the cooling loads due to the depth of excavation and the soil/groundwater conditions that exist on the site.
    If all else fails, ask for help.

I just remembered a book on the subject of ground soil freezing you might be interested in. I have not purchased it yet...but thinking about it.

Info below from Amazon.com

Frozen Ground Engineering
    About the Authors
    ORLANDO B. ANDERSLAND, PHD
    , is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Michigan State University and a recipient of the Distinguished Faculty Award. He is senior author of the first edition of this book and numerous papers in technical journals, as well as senior editor of Geotechnical Engineering for Cold Regions.