Thread: New guy

New guy

Hi all,

I am a grad student in the states at Ohio University and currently have an interest in refrigeration systems. I've always enjoyed thermodynamics and i believe that it is a field that i want to pursue, especially considering the new design possibilities as R-134a may be phased out (at least Europe has the right idea).

As an undergrad, i learned that i was in the Silicon Valley of Free-Piston Stirling Engines and Coolers. I am actually designing a heat pipe with a Stirling Cooler (from Global Cooling) and CO2 as the working fluid.

I found this website and it looks like i can learn a lot about refrigeration in industry, and not out-dated thermodynamic textbooks.

I really like the potential that Stirling Coolers have, especially concerning cryocooler technology. It's crazy how a large cascade system can be transformed into about the size of a shoebox via a Stirling Cooler.

Looking forward to this site to browse from time to time to further my knowledge......and who knows land a job that i'd like.

Re: New guy

Welcome scrapen!!

Hope you enjoy the site

Welcome to the forum Scrapen

Nice to have another new member on board.

Any chance you can elaborate on your project a little for those of us who aren't so enlightened?

Welcome Scrapen

frank,

To get an idea what i'm doing, i'm basically building a refrigerator. A heat pipe is a tube with a working fluid that transports heat from one place to another. (you can A) cool something down or B) Heat something up (typically using ground heat in lower climate areas)) They are popular in computer cooling or electronic in general applications.