Question Going Rate for Refrigeration Tech

I recently took over my father's Refrigeration business. He has been in business for about 35 years and very old school about the rate he charges his customers roughly $35 an hr. What is the going rate for service now a days before and after you walk in the door? Do you charge for travel time?

Any Help would be greatly appreciated

$65.00 AN HOUR... WHAT ARE YOUPAYING YOUR TECHS?

Way back when I was a contractor, in a last ditch effort to save the business I raised my rates very substantially.

To my amazement, not one of my customers complained, and several told me it was reasonable. Unfortunately, it was too little too late.

Whatsmore, shortly after I went belly up my competitors raised their rates even higher. They are still in business. I am not.

Make a profit or go to work for someone else.

Originally posted by herefishy
    $65.00 AN HOUR... WHAT ARE YOUPAYING YOUR TECHS?
    It's a family business, just myself and my Dad were running the show.

thanks for your help!

Hello Pax

I appreciate Im not from the States, but heres a little "trick" you can employ

Disguise your voice, pretend youre a manager at some convenience store and ring up some local companies and ask what they would charge to come repair your refrigerator.

Im not sure what or who your target markets are, so you choose appropriate companies who are similar or in competition with you.

I hope what Ive suggested is not illegal, perhaps a little unethical, but all youre doing is a bit of market research, albeit in a sly fashion.

So there you go, and if you gather that the rate in Philadephia is a measly 35 bucks..............then you can head off south where you can double it to 65!!

But watch out................Stay out of Texas!!

LOL!!!!!

Hi Aiyub.

I just call my competitors up (the ones I know) and ask what their current rate is.

Of course that runs the gammit of a price fixing scenario.

I'm straight up.