Need Refrigeration Help !!!

Hello To All ! I am a Maintenance Supervisor for a large bakery plant. I just got the job 2 weeks ago. I have some experience in refrigeration. They have 3 walk-in Freezers ( Approx. 20ft. x 20ft. ) . How do I determain if the existing compressors are capable of maintaining freezing tempertures .

Re: Need Refrigeration Help !!!

Buy a book called "principles of refrigeration" by Roy J Dossat and read it cover to cover. Then buy some refrigeration tools and take some measurements.
    Get manuals and tech info of all your refrigeration equipment.
    Or use the phone and call a refrigeration mechanic to come and look at them.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by SloFuse View Post
    Hello To All ! I am a Maintenance Supervisor for a large bakery plant. I just got the job 2 weeks ago. I have some experience in refrigeration. They have 3 walk-in Freezers ( Approx. 20ft. x 20ft. ) . How do I determain if the existing compressors are capable of maintaining freezing tempertures .
    Easy, put in freezer equivalent amount of load by filing some plastic drums of water at entering temperature of goods to be stored and switch on the freezer. In one of drums put thermometer for control of reached temperatures. If he do what is need to do than you have establish that is capable.

Check the temperatures being attained on full load. If the temperatures are as per your requirement then alls fine. Otherwise you have not only to check the compressor, but all the components ie. condenser, evaporators, controls etc.

You could start by talking to your maintenance staff and the operators. To find out wether the plant has a history?
    Also if the problem is recent you could ask wether the useage of the walk in freezers has changed.