2013



Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    48
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    0

    Change R22 to R417 on panasonic airco.


    Hello guys,
    I have to replace the refrigerant of 8 panasonic airco units to R417. My boss says I can just recover the R22, vacuum the system and put R417 on it. Is this true?
    Do I have to use the same amount as if it is R22?
    Thanks!
    Eric.



  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    304
    Rep Power
    8

    Re: Change R22 to R417 on panasonic airco.

    Eric

    Is R22 being phased out now in Belgium? We can still buy it here in the UK.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    48
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: Change R22 to R417 on panasonic airco.

    I've been told that the air conditionings running on R22 have to be replaced by other units (running on something else than R22) or the refrigerant changed by 2010.
    If you encounter a unit with a leak and you have to fill it with more than 5% you are not allowed to do so. Instead of changing the unit I can change the refrigerant into R417. That's what the customer told me and my boss says also. I was just wondering if I need the same amount of refrigerant.
    Eric.

  4. #4
    REEFER-TEK's Avatar
    REEFER-TEK Guest

    Re: Change R22 to R417 on panasonic airco.

    Take a look at R407c as an alternative. It is as close to r-22 and is a HFC

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Sydney Australia :D
    Age
    44
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: Change R22 to R417 on panasonic airco.

    Hey guys,

    Just before you go and dump a charge of R407C in these units....Just remember that it is NOT compatable with mineral oil.

    407C is a retrofit not a drop in.

    Be careful otherwise you may just end up costing yourselves a lot of money to replace the units. Also when using R407C remember that a separate set of gauges should be used to avoid cross contamination.

    Why not just fix the leak and recharge with R22?????

    The new gas will be R410A which runs at a higher pressure, uses a different oil and requires a different grade of copper pipework.

    All the best guys
    :cool: Do the job once & do it right. :cool:

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    24
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: Change R22 to R417 on panasonic airco.

    If it is R417A(Isceon59) then you should use about 10% more charge than with R22. This is a straight drop in replacement for R22.
    Do not use R407C!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    41
    Posts
    89
    Rep Power
    8

    Re: Change R22 to R417 on panasonic airco.

    on4hf,

    Yes you can use R417 (Isceon 59) on R22 installations. You do not need to change anything to the installation. We`ve had some sets running for quite some time now, no problems there at all.

    you need different types of oil for R22 and R407c, so can`t do. R410, totally different pressures, can`t do either. R417 is prefect for replacing R22 without changing the oil.

    I believe it`s pretty expensive, though.

    Take care,

    Pol

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    48
    Posts
    28
    Rep Power
    0

    Re: Change R22 to R417 on panasonic airco.

    Thanks for the replies everybody.
    I went to the customer today and changed the refrigerant on 5 of the 8 units. I have noticed that it needs a little more when filling with R417A, so I did put some extra.
    Tomorrow I will take the other 3. Also from 2 units the compressor won't start. The current is 45A for a small unit. I think the compressors are dead, but that's another story...

    Eric.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    63
    Rep Power
    8

    Re: Change R22 to R417 on panasonic airco.

    hello mate
    we now as a matter of course change from r22 to r417 every time we encounter a unit with a leak or requires a major component change, we ave ad no probs after conversion , as previous posters have said you will require a slightley bigger charge
    cheers paul

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sussex
    Posts
    343
    Rep Power
    9

    Re: Change R22 to R417 on panasonic airco.

    Quote Originally Posted by paulwild View Post
    we now as a matter of course change from r22 to r417 every time we encounter a unit with a leak or requires a major component change, we ave ad no probs after conversion. As previous posters have said you will require a slightley bigger charge
    cheers paul
    That is a very sensible policy.....come 2009 there is going to be a real frenzy with customers finally realising that there will be no more new R22 for topping up - just the salvaged stuff for a short while. Any customers that can get their systems converted to R417a / MO59 before then should do that. (Possibly as part of a maintenance visit?)

Similar Threads

  1. Panasonic air-con inverter unit
    By Baron in Spain in forum Air Conditioning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-12-2007, 12:34 PM
  2. love to hear from the pros.(gas change)
    By jamcool in forum Refrigerants
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 17-11-2006, 02:18 AM
  3. Panasonic help
    By marc5180 in forum Air Conditioning
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2006, 09:01 AM
  4. Change of Job
    By Brian_UK in forum Chit Chat & Service Stories
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 20-09-2003, 03:26 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •