View RSS Feed

passandscore

Refrigerant will NOT get you high, it will KILL you!

Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.

Why are people huffing refrigerant? I am a refrigeration technician who works around refrigerants and I have found myself in situations were I have been exposed to higher than recommended limits. I can tell you that the feeling you experience is nothing like the high you get from marijuana. I am seriously concerned for my health at these times! The refrigerants are colourless with a faint sweet odour. Overexposure leads to dizziness and loss of concentration because the vapour displaces your oxygen and causes asphyxiation in confined spaces, like when holding a rag to your face! If you going to get high regardless use marijuana over refrigerant! More and more countries are seriously considering legalizing it! Refrigerant will not get you high, it will kill you!

The need to get high seems to overtake the need to stay alive. The recent popularity behind inhaling refrigerant from a bag or rag has got me thinking, why? I understand why people take drugs: to fit in, escape or relax, relieve boredom, to seem grown up, rebel or to just experiment. I understand drugs but I don't understand poison. Huffing refrigerant (poison) from a rag is one step away from dosing the rag in chloroform (poison) in hopes of getting high with the thrill of passing out. The health risks are the same yet we know better than to misuse chloroform, or do we? Below is a list of health risk related to both poisons.

Symptoms of mild to moderate refrigerant poisoning include (Those in common with chloroform are in red):
irritation of the eyes, ears, and throat
headache
nausea
vomiting
frostbite
cough
chemical burn to the skin

Symptoms of severe refrigerant poisoning include (Those in common with chloroform are in red):
fluid buildup or bleeding in the lungs
decreased mental status
difficult, labored breathing
irregular heartbeat
loss of consciousness
Seizures