PDA

View Full Version : What causes for a scroll compressor to fail?

arcticboy
12-10-2007, 07:00 AM
hello guys im a newbie here at this forum. ive got one question for all of you hope you could help me... We installed 10 TR scroll Compressors on our ACCU and they are failing one by one. The brand is maneurop but made in China. We already reprocess the system and were sure that it is already clean. What's the causes for this Compressors to go high ampere? is it the Bearings of these Compressors weak? voltage fluctuation? These Compressors is 380v/3ph/60hz. The number of compressors that went down is 12 compressors already... And the manufacturer of these Compressors dont want to warrant their units because they said the problem is not on their compressors. They blame it on the electricals and they said the system is not clean. :confused:

gham
12-10-2007, 08:38 AM
have you checked the contactors, have you got one pole down which is causing the motor to two phase, this will give you the same symptom as a ceased comp

Tesla
12-10-2007, 09:46 AM
Hi ArticboyCould be many things with 12 failures it would be worth spending some money on testing. One, test of an oil sample can indicate most refrigerant faults. Two, install a data logger to a unit V + I, and another to the common supply for all units, test the power circuit with an electrician. I'm sure the data logger for a week or two will pick up 95% of electrical faults. Innitially check the basics first like use an IR thermometer on elect terminations, contactors, motor. Failling bearings, acid, moisture, air, will show up in the oil test. Its cheaper to hire data loggers. May the force be with you

watana
12-10-2007, 04:06 PM
will it be the problem of oil return, rotation direction

philjd26
12-10-2007, 05:01 PM
hi...you said high amps, either excessive refrigerant or low voltage......on start up of a new compressor are you getting high amps?

Jase
13-10-2007, 12:11 AM