PDA

View Full Version : refrigeration tools

phil.knowles
13-12-2002, 10:38 PM
I am new to refrigeration so i need some tools. IE second hand or a cheap supplier any contacts

Brian_UK
15-12-2002, 10:47 PM
I haven't got an answer for you on this one Phil but I would caution you on buying 2nd hand kit.

The mechanical tools that you need, if old, may be blunt, out of shape, weakened or similar. Also any gauge sets you get must be treated as suspect.

The prices for gauges are not too exorbitant and considering that it is your hands, face or body that could get damaged when the cheap/old set blow up on you, safety has to come first.

Don't skimp on tools, it doesn't pay in the long run, your quality of work will be low, the customer won't be impressed and amongst other things your life on site will be harder working with old/cheap kit.

Good luck with your new interest by the way.

phil.knowles
15-12-2002, 11:12 PM
Thanks for the advice its very much appreciated. Where can i buy new tools from?

frank
16-12-2002, 10:27 PM
Dean & Wood, NRS, HRP, SWM, RPW, Derbyshire Refrigeration, J & E Hall to name but a few - there are also many other fridge retailers out there who will be willing to take your hard earned cash.

Best thing to do is to ask your lecturer at college who is the best local supplier.

Frank

abcdefg1675
07-04-2003, 01:28 AM
ebay :D Ive looked on there. Aincent evacuation pumps selling at prices even i can afford (if you dont count in the shipping) hose adaters, charging hoses and 100lb cans of R12.

phil.knowles
10-04-2003, 08:52 PM
good reply ive got loads of stuff from ebay

abcdefg1675
11-04-2003, 02:24 AM
i always remeber R12 illegal to sell. I know you can buy it if your EPA certified, but i didnt know about selling it...

speaking of that, i know someone who picked up 2lbs of it for 50 cents (us) at a yard sale... :eek:

condenseddave
27-06-2003, 03:15 AM
It was about 50 cents a pound when I started...:(

Latte
27-06-2003, 10:16 PM